My Time at W&L Law: Curtis Wilson

wilsonWith less than a month left in the 2012-2013 academic year, we asked several of our third-year students to reflect upon their time at W&L Law. Today, Curtis Wilson takes on the topic.

As my third year of law school comes to a close at W&L, it’s important to take a moment to reflect on my experiences during my time here.  Many prospective law students may find themselves in the position I did prior to submitting my applications for law school.  I knew very little about Washington and Lee at the beginning of my application process.  I decided to do some research and was pleasantly surprised by what I found.  I learned much from reading the materials that were sent to me.  Everything I read looked so amazing, from the honor system to the small class sizes to the easy access to the professors and faculty.  Like many prospective law students, I was apprehensive that a law school in such a small city location could really have what I was looking for.

Suffice it to say, I found everything I was looking for and more here at W&L.  First of all, the welcoming atmosphere of the town of Lexington is something you have to experience to believe.  From my own personal experience, you don’t find many small towns where the people pour out their hearts and souls to guests and visitors.  The views here are spectacular and will be sorely missed.  The outdoor activities that are available aren’t something that I was used to after living in locations where I had to do significant amounts of traveling just to find a hiking trail.  Some might find that being in such a small location positioned some distance from the big city lights a detraction.  I see it as a plus, simply because I didn’t have to be surrounded by the hustle and bustle every day but travel to it if I wanted.  I will miss the town of Lexington when I’m gone.

The law school alone had me at hello.  My initial experience with the law school was during an open house event and I was highly impressed by the openness and genuine sincerity of the faculty, students and professors.  Coming from a military background, I was looking for a place where I didn’t feel like just a number or statistic.  Instantly I was made to feel as if I was becoming part of a family, a family with a long storied history.  The level of education I was assured that I would receive here and the knowledge that every person here, including my fellow students, would do everything in their power to ensure my success won me over.  Looking back, I would not change a thing about my experience here at W&L.

I will always remember the lively conversations with my professors and the jovial banter with my peers.  I will remember the struggles that I had with my law school courses and the helping hands and kind words that helped me through it.  I will remember the professors pushing and supporting me when I lacked faith in my own abilities.  I will remember W&L.  My experiences here are indelibly etched into me and I will take the spirit of W&L wherever I go.  I am lucky to have had the opportunity to call myself a W&L Law graduate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

